Office of the Commissioner of Financial Regulation


Mortgage Lender Continuing Education


Each "covered employee" (i.e., the company’s Qualifying Individual and the branch manager of a location licensed by the Commissioner of Financial Regulation) must satisfy the continuing education requirements set forth below during each licensing period.

THE CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS FOR COVERED EMPLOYEES WHO ARE NOT LICENSED AS MORTGAGE LOAN ORIGINATORS, ARE THE SAME AS THE CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSED MORTGAGE LOAN ORIGINATORS. These continuing education standards are prescribed by Md. Code Ann., Financial Institutions § 11-612 and the SAFE Mortgage Licensing Act and include the following on an annual basis:

  1. 3 hours of Federal law and regulations;
  2. 2 hours of ethics that shall include instruction on fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues;
  3. 2 hours of training related to lending standards for the nontraditional mortgage product market; and
  4. 1 hour of instruction on Maryland mortgage-related law.


Course approvals are provided through the NMLS (effective since January 1, 2010). The continuing education requirements and a list of approved courses can be found on the NMLS website:


For questions about course requirements, providers and approved courses, go to the NMLS Education Resource Page or call NMLS at 855-665-7123. For other inquiries specific to Maryland requirements, contact Arlene F. Williams, Acting Director of Mortgage Licensing and Mortgage Licensing Supervisor at 410-230-6068.

 Applications and Forms  Industry Advisories  Find Someone Who is Licensed