Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing


Maryland Board of Pilots



The Board has finished the current selection process for 2015. The next one will start in early 2017. Applicants who wish to be considered for the 2017 selection must have a current application on file on December 31, 2016. Go to Board of Pilots Licensing for more information. You can contact Board at dloplpilots-dllr@maryland.gov.




Board Members:
Derek Griffin, Chairman, Consumer member, Howard County
Kelly M. Schulz, Secretary, Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation, ex officio member
Captain Eric Nielsen, President, Association of Maryland Pilots
Captain William Smith, Licensed Pilot, Anne Arundel County
Captain Joseph Hartnet, Licensed Pilot, Harford County
Captain Paul Caubo, Licensed Pilot, Baltimore County
Timothy Kassel, Steamship Industry member, Baltimore County
Michael Rye, Steamship Industry Member, Harford County
Mike Reagoso, Tugboat Industry Member, Anne Arundel County

Steve Long, Executive Director
James A. Baseman, Assistant Executive Director

Welcome to our home page. The State Board of Pilots licenses and regulates pilots who pilot vessels on the navigable waters of the State under the provisions of Business Occupations and Professions Article, Annotated Code of Maryland, Title 11, and the Code of Maryland Regulations, Title 9, Subtitle 26.

Public Meetings

Regular business meetings of the State Board of Pilots are scheduled quarterly, at 500 N. Calvert Street, Baltimore, Maryland, at 10:30 am. - DLLR calendar.

Meeting Minutes

Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation
Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing
State Board of Pilots
500 N. Calvert Street, Room 308
Baltimore, Maryland 21202-3651
Fax 410-333-0021
email: baypilot@dllr.state.md.us